Why I use a Moleskine

I have been a little scarce lately. I’ve returned to classes at the university where I’m finishing a Master’s degree in English literature. The first week back is always very hectic and I haven’t had much time to collect my thoughts. But I have been thinking that I should say a few words about my choice of sketchbook.

I use one of these: a large sized Moleskine watercolour “notebook,” as it is called in their catalogue.

 

If you are not familiar with the Moleskine line, I think a brief summary of the product would look something like this. They are generally a little more expensive than regular sketchbooks or notebooks, the company makes claims about famous writers and artists using them–claims which are of questionable veracity. They have become so popular that, indeed, in some circles they’ve become a joke.

I bought mine for only one reason: I wanted a sketchbook that would take watercolour reasonably well, which this sketchbook does. If I’m honest, I have never even concidered the “other great people owned these” angle. I know now that there are other brands of watercolour sketchbooks out there (Handbook makes one), but Moleskine is the only one I have tried so far. The paper is better than the student-grade watercolour paper I have used in the past, and takes ink better than anything in my current stock. It lays flat when open, and is hand bound.

That said, I have seen reports of pages coming loose, especially if you are rough with the books. I am gentle with mine but one of the signatures (paper folds) is coming loose.

It has one clear draw-back: it currently only comes in landscape orientation. It was designed like a reporter’s flip-up notebook but I’ve found that even using it held as such my hands get tired and sore very quickly. It is a literal pain to use if you don’t have something to rest it on. Russell Stutler has rigged up a support to accomodate this drawback. It is hoped that Modo and Modo will eventually come out with a portrait oriented version before long.

When the day comes that I’ve finished the last page of my Moleskine, I will probably try one of the other watercolour sketchbooks out there. Until then, I’m pleased enough with what I have provided I can brace it on something!

Leave a comment